Georgian Poussin

I went to an amazing Georgian restaurant years ago and enjoyed a wonderful poussin dish there. Guess what?… I have a poussin in my fridge and just remembered this awesome experience. Let’s (attempt to) recreate!

My take on it was really good if I am honest, and so tasty with such a small number of ingredients 😊 Hope I made justice to the Georgian cuisine! I am so looking forward to visiting this amazing country for more adventures, as unfortunately COVID cut short my plans to go there a few years ago.

  • Preparation: 10 mins
  • Cooking: 35 mins
  • Serves: 2

Ingredients

  • 1 poussin
  • 8 garlic cloves, grated
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 25 g butter
  • 2 tbsp parsley, chopped
  • 1 tbsp tarragon, chopped
  • 1 tbsp dill, chopped
  • Sunflower oil
  • Salt and pepper

Method

  • Flatten the poussin by cutting its non-skin side in two along its backbone, while keeping the poussin as one piece (so don’t fully cut it in two). This picture is after cooking but shows you what I mean:
  • Make the poussin as flat as possible, then rub it in garlic and season with chili powder, salt and pepper.
  • Heat the butter with a bit of oil in a large pan. Cook the poussin on medium heat for 5 mins on each side, skin-side first.
  • Lower down the heat to low-medium. The poussin should be skin-side up in the pan.
  • Lay some baking paper over the poussin and weight it with a heavy pan on top (such as a Le Creuset skillet or a pan filled with water) to keep the poussin as flat as possible.
  • Continue cooking the poussin for 25 mins, until juices run clear. Add parsley and tarragon 5 mins before the end, keeping some to decorate the plate.

Leave a comment